Joint Club AGM Sunday

The Joint Club (Management) Annual General Meeting is this Sunday at 5.30 pm in the clubhouse. All members are invited to attend. It’s your club so it is up to you! BUT please don’t berate any decisions made if you are not there to put your point of view across.

Ladies Wish Sean Well

Lady Captain Veronica McGorman is looking forward to working with Captain Sean Bonner and she wishes him every success in his year ahead. The ladies club would also like to extend their congratulations to both Captain Sean and his Vice Captain Gerard Kelly

Veronica New Lady Captain

The ladies gathered at 3pm for the Annual General Meeting last Sunday to say farewell to Noeleen McCague and welcome our new Lady Captain Veronica McGorman. Bridie Keenan gave a very comprehensive Secretary’s report covering all major events of the last 12 months. Doli Maguire Treasurer had to rely on hand signals to deliver her report as she had an embarrassing dental expulsion to deal with! It was then time for Noeleen to hand over the golden pin of office to Veronica who graciously accepted and chaired the rest of the meeting. All of the titled positions on the committee were retained by the present incumbents Doli Maguire Treasurer, Bridie Keenan Secretary, Vera Tighe Competition Secretary, Mary O’Toole handicap secretary and Mary Trant PRO. The 6 committee members were then elected Eileen Kerr, Anne McCarthy, Lynn Whelan, Theresa Fitzpatrick, Teresa Hanawin and Mary Trant. There were a couple of proposals to be debated one of which was the date and length of Matthews’ weekend. The ladies club voted to extend the competition to a week long competition if the fixtures committee will allow. They also voted down any change to the number of prizes for the Lady Members Cup which will remain 1st, 2nd, gross and 3 category prizes. Another item debated was the reinstatement of stroke golf for all major competitions including the Lady Captain’s Prize. Maureen Lynch then offered to run a 9 hole competition throughout the summer possibly on Tuesdays for any lady senior players i.e over 60 years young in a sweep format. This was unanimously supported.  Anne McCarthy requested that someone should take over the winter and summer league, there was much persuasion to keep her at the helm but Joy Cassidy very kindly offered to give a hand whenever required. The Spring League will run over 9 holes at the vote of the meeting! There is also to be an information night to be held possibly in February to cover the change in the Rules of Golf which come into force in January 2012 and to include presentations from the handicap secretary and the competition secretary who will inform us what is involved in these two positions in the hope that we can recruit successors for these roles in due course. Lady Captain Veronica said it would be her wish that all ladies attend presentation evenings in 2012 add several suggestions were put forward as to how to get the event better attended. This will be taken forward by the new committee. Lady Captain Veronica then proposed a vote of sympathy for anyone who had been bereaved during the year, thanked everyone for coming and reminded the ladies to attend the joint club AGM on Sunday next. The meeting then concluded.

Ladies Winter League

More excitement in the penultimate week of the ladies Winter League as Team 3 edge ahead again by a mere 2 points now on 377 with fabulous scores coming from Elaine Hamilton 20, Geraldine Igoe 19 and Marian Foy 17. Team 5 who have slipped back into 2nd place are now on 375 with scores from Mary Trant 19, Theresa Fitzpatrick 16 and Noirin McKenna 18. The battle continues for 3rd and 4th place between teams 2 and 6 with only a point separating them! Team 2 are currently 3rd with 358 with scores from Joy Cassidy 16, Roisin Kerr 15 and our new Lady Captain Veronica McGorman a massive 20! Team 6 in 4th place have 357 with scores from Irene Rooney 14, Geraldine Fitzpatrick 17 and also 17 from Noeleen McCague. Team 4 are 5th on 333 with scores from Lynn Whelan 15, Vera Tighe 17 and Eileen Kerr 15. Team 1 have managed to sustain their position in 6th place with 310 with scores from Una O’Reilly 13, Martha O’Grady 15 and Brid Finlay 17. We are now in the final week with the competition finishing on Saturday so we would ask that all scores in the final week are kept secret so that the presentation of prizes on Friday 9th of December at 8.30pm has as much suspense as we can muster! Good luck everyone!

Alpha Bet

The letters drawn in last week’s Alpha Bet on Monday 21st of November were VAGZ and there were no winners of the 8,300 jackpot which now rolls over to 8,400. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Micheline Brady Clones, Diane Smyth Newbliss, Eamon McCabe Malin (goodness our roving ticket sellers really do get around!) Pauline Kelly Clones and Victor Chambers Carrybridge. Well done to them. Tickets are one euro or one pound each or 6 tickets for a fiver!

Sean Bonner New Club Captain

The men’s club held their AGM on Sunday last; outgoing Captain Tommy O’Harte introduced his successor Sean Bonner who in turn introduced his Vice Captain Gerard Kelly. Kevin Hickey remains as Secretary, Pat Fee Handicap Secretary, Padraig Geoghegan Treasurer and Pat Connolly takes over as Competition Secretary. Gerry Trant PRO. Full report next week.

AGM Sunday

The ladies Annual General Meeting takes place on Sunday next 27th of November at 3.00pm. All ladies are invited to attend this most important gathering. Lady Captain Noeleen McCague will pass on her badge of office to her successor Veronica McGorman who will in turn introduce her lady vice captain. The new committee will be elected and important proposals will be discussed. So ladies please make every effort to attend.

Mens AGM

You are reminded that the Mens AGM takes place on Sunday at 6pm. Please come along and show your support for the incoming Captain Sean Bonner who takes over from outgoing Captain Tommy O Harte.

Autumn League– week 5 winners

Charlie Browne/Conor Smith 39 pts even with a 2 point deduction as previous winners — a  mighty score.

This will conclude the league section and in order to reduce the teams to a final four all team  captains are asked to send out their teams for one last time with all team members playing  just once and the best 4 teams will meet in matchplay.

1 v 4 and 2 v 3 –for the matchplay you will exchange team sheets prior to the start and in the  event of a tie the team with  the most holes up will prevail  — if still a tie the last team will  continue playing until a hole is won.