Ladies GOY This Week

Thursday 2nd May (imagine ladies we are in may already!) is the first Golfer of the Year strike DRAW. We are reverting to the 10 point scoring system which is a fairer way of sorting out the Golfer of the Year so regardless of which category you are in if you have the best score you will get 10 points the next best will get 9 and so on. This will reward the most consistent and most regular players. My money is on TH this year!

Teresa Snipped!

A fabulous net 71 by Teresa Hannawin in the stroke Medal resulted in a win in category C (29-36) and also a hefty 3 shot reduction in her handicap now off 31. Well done Teresa! Section A (0-20) was won by Catherine Farrell 77 and Noeleen McCague claimed Section B (21-28) with 81 nett.

Harte Peat Spring League

The concluding stages of the Harte Spring League have now been arrived at, the final is between Team 2 Captained by Donal O Reilly and Team 16 Captained by Michael Galligan. The Final is to be played by Sunday week 12th May, we would like to complement our Competition Secretary Michael Connolly on his smooth running of the competition.

Jimmy Carroll Qualifier

The club hosted a qualifying round of the Jimmy Carroll competition on Wednesday last where all the clubs from Monaghan participated. This is a Senior’s fourball better ball competition playing off three quarters handicap and the scoring all round was excellent.  Charlie Browne and Conor Smith returned 47 points which was the best score of the day and helped Clones to qualify in first place on 131 points. Rossmore were second with 142 points and Castleblayney third on 118.  Both of those club will now play each other to determine the second qualifying place for the Ulster final which will be held in Omagh in June.  The other members of the Clones team were John Copas and Paddy Kerr, Frankie Dolan and Sean Bonner, George Crowe and Joe Smith.

Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on 22nd April were FVCN and there were no winners of the 4,100 jackpot now standing at 4,200. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were John McDade, Emma Counihan Emyvale, Dolores McGuigan Clones, Paul O’Hart C/O Cosy Bar and Pat Taylor Cootehill.

Harte Peat Spring League

The Harte Peat Spring League has now reached the Semi Final stage, the Semi Finals have to be played by Sunday next the 28th. The pairings are as follows, Team 2, Captained by Donal O’ Reilly play Team 6, Captained by Martin Clegg, while Team 11 Captained by our Club Vice- Captain Paul Jenkins plays Team 16 led by Michael Galligan, the odds on favourites to win the Competition outright. We would like to convey our thanks to Tommy O’Harte and Harte Peat for their continuous sponsorship of the Competition.