Ladies meet Santa!

The Ladies Winter League presentation and party night saw Brid Finlay make her first official presentation in her capacity as Lady Captain to the winning team of Noirin McKenna, Elaine Hamilton, Brid herself! Mary O’Toole, Eileen Kerr and Veronica McGorman. The ladies were treated to nibbles and mulled wine and once again a huge thanks to Anne McCarthy, the brainchild of the league. The ladies also shared in the celebrations with Tom Cassidy representing Joy in her absence, on the birth of their first grandchild, Mateo in Spain, a wee boy. To top off the night Santa put in an appearance! Thanks to S.McB for being such a good sport.

Results of Eclectic Competition

The following are the results of the Eclectic Competition played over the last 7 weeks, 1st Paddy McKeown (45pts) Runner Up Ollie Walsh (45 pts)Other Winners are William Noonan, Frankie Dolan, Joe Smith, Conor Smith, Pat Ryan,Michael Connolly, George Crowe, Seamus McKiernan, and Martin Taylor.


Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on 9th December were CDXQ no winners of the jackpot. The 5 lucky dippers were Greta Mullen Magheraveely, Brendan McGeough Newbliss, Brian O’Harte C/O Cosy Bar, James Taylor Dartry and Paul Brady Carrickmacross. Thanks you to Michael Connolly for the party night and raffle. A wee thank you to the Lotto team which is much appreciated.


Frankie New President

The 101st Annual General Meeting of the joint Club took place on Sunday last with a very moving speech from outgoing President Martin Taylor, a year of contrasts, citing the sad death of Dan Maguire and Liam Quigley, a very comprehensive sum-up of a very interesting Centenary Year and heartfelt thanks to everyone at the club who had made themselves available and had given something of themselves to the club in a voluntary capacity. The hard work of Hugh John and Finbar were also mentioned and the splendid condition of our course is a reflection of their dedication and expertise. The two outgoing Captains Gerry Kelly and Rosin Kerr were praised along with the Centenary Committee for marking the year in such splendid fashion. Reports were then heard from the Treasurer Donal O’Reilly and Secretary Paddy McKeown. The new President was elected, Mr Frankie Dolan who expressed his pride at being asked to take such a prestigious post. He stated he would endeavour to do his very best for the club as the outgoing President had done. Paddy McKeown agreed to stay on as Secretary so too did Donal O’Reilly as Treasurer. The elected Committee Members are Roisin Kerr, Anne McCarthy, Maureen Lynch, Kathleen Leonard, Paul Fitzpatrick, Phil McCrystal, George Rice and Mike Keane. They will serve alongside Captain Paul Jenkins, Vice-Captain Gerry Traynor, Lady Captain Brid Finlay and Vice-Captain Rosita McCabe. There was one proposal that players over 80 years old receive a reduction on their subscription which was unanimously passed. The Treasurer informed the members that all Subscriptions must be paid by either Direct Debit or in full by March 31st. A list of members will be displayed in the clubhouse as per section 10.7 of the Constitution. The meeting concluded and the assembled members took turns to congratulate the outgoing President Martin Taylor on his wonderful tenure and welcomed the incoming President Frankie Dolan and wished him a very successful term in office.

Ladies Winter League

The ladies Winter League has concluded so now ladies you get on with Christmas shopping etc! Winners from early on in the running were Team 5 so well done to Noirin McKenna, Elaine Hamilton, Lady Captain Brid Finlay, Mary O’Toole, Eileen Kerr and Veronica McGorman with 349. Team 4 snatched 2nd place from team 2 in the final week with a fabulous 19 from Vera Tighe, 16 from Doli Maguire and 14 from Geraldine Fitzpatrick. (335) Team 2 finished on 331 with scores from Mary Trant 14, Noeleen McCague 16 and Anne Wrafter 13. Team 3 scraped into 4th place on 309 with 16 from Una O’Reilly, and 14 from Bridie Keenan and Rosita McCabe. Team 1 finished on 308 pipped by 1 point with scores from Ann Keating 9, Kathleen Leonard 15 and Martha O’Grady 17. The presentation of the hampers and other goodies will take place in the clubhouse on Thursday 12th of December at 8pm. Nibbles will be served and the place looks very festive thanks to Lady Captain Brid and her trusty elves who put up the tree and trimmings.