The Question is??

A brilliant night’s craic on Saturday at the “fun quiz” with 11 teams competing. The questions were set just right, well done to Ollie Walsh for that. Thanks to Stephen Trant who was quiz master in his own inimitable style. Ciara Hickey and beau Ryan kept the scoring right and Wendy and Melvin Brogan supplied the nibbles and of course Mary Logue kept us suitably crapulous. The winners with 75 were Team 3 Paddy & Martina McKeown and Jimmy & Emer McGeough. 2nd were Team 11 on 72 Eileen & Enda McCluskey, Dermot Connolly and Brian Cassidy. Both teams generously returned their prize monies for club funds. Thank you. There were also raffle tickets to be had and thanks to Anne-Marie for letting us has a strip for a couple of euro! Prizes sponsored by Brendan Harte, Gerard Kelly, Morgan’s Hardware, Captain Paul and Liptons of Clones. Photos and video on Facebook, simply log on to and click the blue F at the bottom of the homepage. There will be another fun quiz Paddy’s weekend!      

Ladies Arnmore Alliance

33 ladies attended at Clones last Monday week. Only delayed by 1 hour by frost. The rest of the day was lovely clear blue sky. A great day had by all but as you see we had lots of countbacks. There was also a countback for category 1. Thanks to Maureen Lynch & Teresa Fitzpatrick for doing the book in the morning and to Ann Keating for the score cards. As usual we had a lovely meal done by Aidan Fitzpatrick & served by him and his good wife Geraldine. Next Alliance Nuremore in Carrick February 24th.

1st Veronica McGorman 25pts

2nd Helen O’Reilly Virginia 25pts

3rd Angela Mc Bride Mannan 25pts


3 categories. Lowest Rita O’Loughlin 23pts

Middle Claire Thomas 24pts

Highest Maureen Crawley 19pts

Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on 20th January were MNDU. No winners jackpot now 2,600. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Dolores McGuigan Clones, Declan McCabe Newtownbutler, Mary O’Toole Cootehill, Brian O’Harte Cosy Bar and Marion Shiels Clones.

The Harte Peat Spring League

The Harte Peat Spring League commences this weekend, Week 1 commences on Saturday 25th and runs up to Sunday 2nd February. Week 2 commences on Monday 3rd February, details of the Competition are posted in the locker room. We wish to convey our thanks to Harte Peat for their continuous sponsorship of the event. Wishing all participants good luck in the Competition. The Competition Secretary informs me that in the event of any problem arising that it will be “my way, I will decide”.

He/She’s Wet T Shirts!

The He/She Society mixed competition took place on Saturday in very wet conditions however everyone played in good spirits (some had more than others eh Sean!) A huge thank you to Pat Ryan and Veronica McGorman for the slick organisation of the day and to the ladies for the wonderful array of sandwiches and cakes after. The draw for partners took place on the morning of the event and there were oooh’s and aaah’s of anticipation and delight as each pairing was announced. It was pointed out to the ladies particularly, that they didn’t get the man for the weekend just the round of golf! We were treated to speeches from President Frankie Dolan, Lady Captain Brid Finlay and Captain Paul Jenkins before the scores were revealed. Sadly the number of ladies determine how many men we require and we are aware there are lots of you champing at the bit to play in this competition. We hope to raise our numbers for the next outing so gents stand by! There were joint winners both on net 49 for the 14 holes Captain Paul and Doli Maguire and Stephen Cochran and Loretto Traynor. In 2nd place were Joe Smith and Bridie Keenan on 49 ½ . It was a great day’s craic and everyone agreed that more of these events should take place. Just one question from the day remains, where did the head of Teresa Hannawin’s jigger end up after her fine chip to the 3rd??? It apparently went further than the ball!


Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on 13th January were HGTV no winner of the jackpot now standing at 2,500. The lucky dippers each winning 20 were Michael Hannon Cootehill, Michael Poynton Scotshouse, Chrissy MacNeill Corconnolly, Eamon McCabe Roslea and A & N McCaffrey Connons.