Ladies Party Night

Lady Captain Rosita McCabe presided over her first official engagement last Friday at the Ladies Club party night. The presentation of the Winter League was made and well done to Team 1 who managed to beat Team 3 by a point! Very exciting right to the end! The winning team on 354 were Roberta Hamilton team captain, Teresa Fitzpatrick, Maureen Lynch, Eileen Kerr, Irene Rooney, Vera Tighe and Ann Kelly with the final scores coming from Teresa 14, Roberta 21 and Vera 18. They received beautiful hampers and thank you to Brid Finlay for her hard work in producing same. Team 3 had scores from Ann McCarthy 20, Geraldine Fitzpatrick 16 and Brid Finlay 17 the other team members were Loretto Traynor, Teresa Hanawin, Claire McCaffrey and Paula Jenkins. Hard luck ladies pipped at the post! Team 4 were 3rd on 343 with final week scores from Celeste McKiernan 16, Catherine Farrell 15 and a whopping 22 from Lady Captain Rosita McCabe who incidentally eagled the 15th (par 5) the previous week! Team 5 were delighted to finish 4th having trailed from the start well done to Doli Maguire 18, Kathleen Leonard 15 and Bridie Keenan 12 finishing on 307. Team 2 finished on 304 with scores from Veronica McGorman 14, Una O’Reilly 13 and Joy Cassidy 12. Everyone received a prize thanks to LC Rosita for doing a great shop! The ladies were then treated to a rendition of the 12 days of Christmas led by vice-captain Geraldine with chocolate Santas handed out to the selected singers. Aidan Fitzpatrick provided a sumptuous supper which included mouth-watering canapés followed by a hot dish. Captain Gerry Traynor arrived with gifts for the ladies. A lovely night!

Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on 8th December were LTXZ and there were no winners of the 2,400 jackpot which now stands at 2,500. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Marie Sherry Clones, Garrett Jenkins Lisnaskea, Paul Rice Lisnaskea, Mary Flynn Lisnaskea and George Crowe Kill. Well done to them!

AGM Update

The Joint Club Annual General Meeting took place on Sunday last and was efficiently chaired by President Frankie Dolan. Very detailed reports were heard from Secretary Paddy McKeown and Treasurer Donal O’Reilly. The members are asked to support the Alpha Bet Lotto by buying tickets and indeed selling them as well. They were also asked to support the weekly competitions as both these sources of income will offset the need for a Subscription increase. Finbar and Hugh John were once again commended on the excellent condition of the course and in particular the greens. The new incoming committee have undertaken to market the club to societies and green fee golfers as our “open all year round” gem of a course is not widely known about. The new committee will be:

President-Frankie Dolan

Secretary-Paddy McKeown

Treasurer-Donal O’Reilly

Captain-Gerry Traynor

Lady Captain-Rosita McCabe

Vice-Captain-Paddy McKeown

Lady Vice Captain-Geraldine Fitzpatrick

The elected members are: Kathleen Leonard, Ann McCarthy, Maureen Lynch, Pat McCabe, Brid Finlay, George Rice, Joe Smith and Paul Jenkins. The members are asked to note that as Paddy McKeown will be taking on the Captain’s role in 2016, a Club Secretary will be required so if you are willing to take on this role please contact a committee member as soon as possible.  

Gerry Takes Over As Captain.

At our recently held Annual General Meeting of the Men’s Club the mantle of Captaincy was passed over to that very popular Ballybay man, Gerry Traynor.  I have no doubt Gerry will devote all his energies in his role as Captain as he did on the golfing front as Vice-Captain where he had a most successful golfing year. Congratulations Gerry, wishing you a most successful and

enjoyable year. Gerry following his inauguration introduced us to his Vice Captain, a man who fulfils many positions in the Club ranging from that of Hon. Sec. to that of Course Convenor,- Mr Paddy McKeown, we wish Paddy good luck in the forthcoming year.  Our thanks to our outgoing captain Paul for his dedication and hard work in that role over the past year.


Ladies Winter League

Week 6 saw Team 1 take a narrow 1 point lead on 301 with scores from Teresa Fitzpatrick 17, a fabulous 23 from Roberta Hamilton and 21 from Vera Tighe. Team 3 are on 300 with scores from Ann McCarthy 17, Teresa Hanawin 17 and Brid Finlay 18. Team 4 are 3rd on 290 with Celeste McKiernan 16, Catherine Farrell 15 and Lady Captain Rosita McCabe 18. Team 2 are 4th on 265 with scores from Una O’Reilly 15, Mary O’Toole 13 and Joy Cassidy 14. Still holding their position are Team 5 on 262 with Doli Maguire 16, Kathleen Leonard 17 and a paltry 8 points from Mary Trant. The final results will be announced at the Party Night on Friday!!


Xmas Weekly 14 Hole Competition Results

The following are the results of the above Competition

Week 4.

Category 1    (0 - 13)       Paddy McKeown     34pts

Category 2    (14- 18)      Pat Ryan                 37pts

Category 3    (19 +  )       Martin Clegg            37pts.



Week 5

Category 1   ( 0 – 13)       Tom McQuillan        36pts.

Category  2  (14- 18)       Stephen Cocrane    38pts

Category  3  (18 +   )       Paul Crudden          34pts

Alpha Bet

The letters drawn on December 1st were CMPH and there were no winners of the 2,300 jackpot now standing at 2,400. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Gerard Trant Clones, Derek McLaughlin Clones, Mary Logue C/O Club, Orla Treanor Clones and Willie Byrne Newbliss. Well done to them. Tickets are one euro or one pound each of 6 for a fiver and you win in the corresponding currency.

Ladies AGM

The ladies Annual General Meeting held last Sunday produced the usual comprehensive review of the tenure of the outgoing Lady Captain Brid Finlay by Madam Secretary Eileen Kerr followed by her Secretary’s report and the report from the Treasurer Teresa Hanawin. Brid thanked her committee for their support and hard work and particularly thanked the outgoing Competition Secretary Mary O’Toole for her work during the year.  The transfer of office was made to the incoming Lady Captain Rosita McCabe who introduced her Vice-Captain, Geraldine Fitzpatrick. The committee were duly elected and are: ex officio Brid Finlay, Secretary Eileen Kerr, Treasurer Teresa Hanawin, Competition Secretary Ann McCarthy, Handicap Secretary & PRO Mary Trant and the elected members are Teresa Fitzpatrick, Catherine Farrell, Veronica McGorman, Noeleen McCague, Roisin Kerr and Bridie Keenan.  The proposal to scrap the buggy policy was unanimously passed which means that ladies can now choose whether they use a buggy or not without the need for Medical Exemption Certificates. Those ladies who represent the club in matchplay competitions will still require an ILGU exemption Cert if they wish to use a buggy at home/away matches against other clubs. It was also proposed to move the first tee box forward to the area just to the left of the old Par 3 tee. Again this was unanimously passed and it has been brought to the attention of the Greens Convener who agreed to have the tee box ready for the new season. The meeting was brought to a close by Lady Captain Rosita and everyone wishes her well in her coming year.