The numbers drawn on 14th November were 9, 12, 13 and 24 there were no winners of the 2,200 jackpot now standing at 2,300. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Brian Morgan Clones (again!) well done Brian! Jimmy McQuaid Scotshouse, Captain Paddy McKeown Dartrey, Joanne Reihill Clones and Anna Mari and Marie Boylan. We done to them!


The numbers drawn on the 7th of November were 5, 13, 28 and 30 and there were no jackpot winner of the 2,100 which now stands at 2,200. The 5 lucky dippers each winning 20 were Hugo Maguire Clonmore, Maria McCrystal Lisnaskea, Brian Morgan Clones, Anne Maguire Largy and Myles Eardley Smithboro. Well done to them!

Captains’ Dinner

A wonderful evening at The Creighton Hotel last Saturday was enjoyed by a large gathering of club members and invited guests. The Creighton did us proud with a delightful vista of beautifully laid tables, tip top service and wonderful and plentiful fare. The speeches were kicked off by Club Secretary P J McCague who thanked everyone for attending to celebrate the hard work of the two Captains and their very supportive committees. He made special mention of the outstanding work done by the green keepers Hugh John and Finbar who continue to do magnificent work in keeping Clones Golf Course playable all year round. He also thanked all the volunteers that keep the club going including, the lotto committee, those who help on the course and surrounds and those that assist Mary Logue in running the bar. PJ then invited the Lady Vice-Captain Teresa Hanawin to the rostrum who said a few kind words about the Lady Captain, Geraldine Fitzpatrick who in turn spoke about her wonderful and enjoyable year. Vice-Captain Joe Smith then in turn introduced Captain Paddy McKeown in his own inimitable fashion. Captain Paddy thanked his family for attending and all the members who had made his year so enjoyable. The main prize winners of the year were presented with their cups and accolades by Olly Walsh Competition Secretaries Madam President Anne McCarthy and congratulation’s go to the Golfer of The Year recipients Niall Murphy (NTB) and Rosita McCabe and all the matchplay cup winners. The gathering were then treated to music from Sounds Familiar who did a fine job of keeping the dance floor full. A great night enjoyed by all!

Ladies Winter League

We are now into week 4 of the Ladies Winter League and Team 5 are romping ahead with 156 points due in no small part to Catherine Farrell and Elaine Hamilton getting 22 points each for the 9 holes in week 2!! There are still 4 weeks left and each teams worst score will be discounted so still all to play for ! Team 4 are in second place on 144, Team 3 just 1 point behind on 143, Team 1 in 4th place with 141 and Team 2 have 125.