Ann McCarthy new President

The Annual General Meeting of Management was held last Sunday in the clubhouse at 5pm. The minutes of the last meeting were read and agreed. Donal O’Reilly gave a very comprehensive financial statement and report and gave particular praise to the fund raising efforts of the Classic committee, the Alpha Bet team and former Lady Captain Rosita McCabe in raising much needed funds to keep the club going. Then followed Paddy McKeown with the Secretary’s report. Special mention was given to all our volunteers the Alpha Bet sellers and tellers, the volunteer bar staff, the course workers and anyone who has the best interests of the club in their hearts. Paddy also thanked the staff particularly Mary Logue, Hugh John and Finbar. We must give special mention to our green keepers who do stalwart work in keeping our course open, whatever the weather! Thank you to everyone. He then mentioned the members that we had sadly lost during the year, Pat King and Raymond Hickey. Paddy then wished a speedy recovery to Veronica McGorman, Bernard McAviney and John Maxwell.  There were no motions. The new Management Committee were elected and outgoing President Frankie Dolan introduced his successor as Ann McCarthy to rapturous applause. Frankie has been a true ambassador to the club has worked tirelessly for the good of the club and as Ann said, will be a hard act to follow.  A new Secretary was appointed as Paddy McKeown is now club Captain and everyone was delighted to welcome P J McCague into this very testing role. Paddy has been an excellent secretary who has always been the diplomat and very approachable with new ideas for the good of the club. Again P J has a hard act to follow. Donal O’Reilly very generously agreed to stay on as Treasurer which is a very time consuming and stressful post. The elected members of the committee are George Rice, Maureen Lynch, Martin Taylor, Kathleen Leonard, Pat McCabe, Brid Finlay, Gerry Traynor and Rosita McCabe who will serve alongside the Captain Paddy McKeown, Lady Captain Geraldine Fitzpatrick, vice-Captain Joe Smith and lady vice-Captain Teresa Hanawin. It is timely to thank these volunteers for their dedication, hard work and commitment to Clones Golf Club without them the club simply wouldn’t run. There were a few items discussed under any other business and our new committee will take these matters under their wing in the New Year. President Ann then offered condolences for anyone who has been bereaved during the year then wished everyone a very happy Christmas a golfing New Year !