Catherine New President

The Joint Club (Management) AGM was well attended on Sunday evening last and Brian Morgan opened the meeting as Club Secretary who proceeded to read last years minutes, there were no matters arising. The theme was to champion the good news

such as the 31 new members ( 23 novices, 6 returning members, 1 family membership and 2 new members), The continuing improvement of the course and the work done on the greens thanks to Paddy McKeown, Finbar and Hugh John. The “open all year round” condition of the course is attracting players to come and play, when their own course may be closed. Secretary Brian requested members to “brag” about our course and facilities at every opportunity.  The Treasurer Tom Cassidy then presented his report which made satisfactory reading due in no small part to the fund-raising efforts of the Lotto, the Classic and fundraising evenings held during the year.  Huge thanks to the people who organised same and in particular to Phil McCrystal, Mickey Connolly and the entire lotto team, Sammy Mealiff and Melvin Brogan and everyone who organised a fund-raising event or supported same. Treasurer Tom mentioned some unavoidable and essential expenses such as the fire department’s request for upgrading doors, the need for upgraded buggies and costs connected to the financing of the club.  These are one off expenses so matters are improving. Secretary Brian then reflected the past year’s events especially the sad passing of life member and past Lady Captain Bridget McCabe, former member Eugene Cassidy and also Eamon Mullen who was one of the quietly busy members of the volunteer group. There were no Motions. Secretary Brian said that a presentation was to be made to long standing member Martin Taylor who joined the club in 1966 for all his dedication, work and wise guidance over the years.  Martin Taylor was suitably humbled and rendered speechless, which is not usual for him. He was presented with a crystal commemorative and managed an emotional and heartfelt speech of gratitude. The election of officers then ensued. President Father Jerry White has concluded his 2 years of service and nominations for a new President were sought. Catherine Farrell was nominated, seconded and she graciously accepted the position and said she would do her very best as President of the club. Brian Morgan agreed to continue in his role as Secretary. Tom Cassidy, despite stating that he was standing down as Treasurer last April was persuaded to stay and will continue in the role for the coming year. The election of committee members then followed and the committee for 2020 are:

President Catherine Farrell, Secretary-Brian Morgan, Treasurer Tom Cassidy and serving members Captain Padraig Connolly, vice Captain Denis Parker, Lady Captain Bridie Keenan, elected members are Collette McCahery, Paddy McKeown, Gerry Traynor, Pat McCabe, Brid Finlay, Roberta Hamilton, Sammy Mealiff and John Fyfe. Teresa Hanawin kindly agreed to take on the role to monitor and control the direct debit members payments following the standing down of Kathleen Leonard who has done a marvellous job over the past 6 years


Under AOB, the ladies Secretary Collette McCahery requested that the ladies competition day be changed from a Thursday to a Wednesday, the meeting had no objection. The meeting was brought to a close by President Catherine Farrell who wished everyone a happy golfing season in 2020 .