Frankie New President

The 101st Annual General Meeting of the joint Club took place on Sunday last with a very moving speech from outgoing President Martin Taylor, a year of contrasts, citing the sad death of Dan Maguire and Liam Quigley, a very comprehensive sum-up of a very interesting Centenary Year and heartfelt thanks to everyone at the club who had made themselves available and had given something of themselves to the club in a voluntary capacity. The hard work of Hugh John and Finbar were also mentioned and the splendid condition of our course is a reflection of their dedication and expertise. The two outgoing Captains Gerry Kelly and Rosin Kerr were praised along with the Centenary Committee for marking the year in such splendid fashion. Reports were then heard from the Treasurer Donal O’Reilly and Secretary Paddy McKeown. The new President was elected, Mr Frankie Dolan who expressed his pride at being asked to take such a prestigious post. He stated he would endeavour to do his very best for the club as the outgoing President had done. Paddy McKeown agreed to stay on as Secretary so too did Donal O’Reilly as Treasurer. The elected Committee Members are Roisin Kerr, Anne McCarthy, Maureen Lynch, Kathleen Leonard, Paul Fitzpatrick, Phil McCrystal, George Rice and Mike Keane. They will serve alongside Captain Paul Jenkins, Vice-Captain Gerry Traynor, Lady Captain Brid Finlay and Vice-Captain Rosita McCabe. There was one proposal that players over 80 years old receive a reduction on their subscription which was unanimously passed. The Treasurer informed the members that all Subscriptions must be paid by either Direct Debit or in full by March 31st. A list of members will be displayed in the clubhouse as per section 10.7 of the Constitution. The meeting concluded and the assembled members took turns to congratulate the outgoing President Martin Taylor on his wonderful tenure and welcomed the incoming President Frankie Dolan and wished him a very successful term in office.