Lady Captain Rosita’s Day

Lady Captain Rosita McCabe hosted her Lady Captain’s Day last Saturday and quite frankly the weather couldn’t have been less co-operative! But that was on the only thing that wasn’t perfect. Rosita greeted her competitors with an array of goodies to feast on before they headed on to the course and each was issued with a gift to mark the day. The conditions suited the longer hitters as there was no run on the ball, evident on the day. As the ladies gradually returned the clubhouse, wet and cold they were welcomed with a nice meal, sent home to rest and beautify themselves, all set to return around 9pm for the presentation. Meanwhile Lady Captain hosted dinner with her family and friends some of whom had travelled from far and wide. Then to the main event! Lady Captain made a heartfelt and moving speech about her year so far, she mentioned how much she had learned about the workings of the club, she thanked everyone who had assisted her in her year to date especially her committee and the Captain Gerry Traynor, she remembered family members lost and thanked her family and friends for attending, some of whom had travelled from afar to share her special day. The winner of the Lady Captain‘s Prize 2015 was a lady who had taken a 5 week absence and despite an 7 on the first and a 6 on the last, carded 10 pars to claim this most prestigious prize with a nett 71. Congratulations to Roisin Kerr a fabulous performance, this lady is a true natural! Just pipped into runner up spot was Veronica McGorman with nett 72. Veronica must have heeded the advice to concentrate and speak less! The Gross was won by Mary Trant 91. Section A went to Elaine Hamilton 79 nett, Section B Roberta Hamilton 80 and Section C Doli Maguire 79 c/b. The Committee Prize was won by Anne McCarthy 79, Past Captain’s Prize Kathleen Leonard 81 and the two 9’s went to Celesta McKiernan 36 and Catherine Farrell 40 c/b. The Novice Prize was won by Nuala McCauley and the visitor’s prize Eithne McAveny. The 9 hole competition was won by Eadaoine Lenihan. The men’s prize winners were Captain Gerry Traynor who secured his score on the wet day! And Paul Fitzpatrick second. Everyone agreed the prizes were stunningly beautiful and useful to boot! A wonderful night ensued with dancing to Beatroot. Well done and thank you to everyone who had a part in making the day so special especially Margaret, Pat and Aisling.