Captain’s Prize Great Success

Captain Joe Smith hosted his Captain’s Day last Saturday and everything was perfect. The weather, the course, the company and the scores. Joe thanked his family and friends for coming to the celebrations, thanked the greenkeepers Finbar and Hugh John for the excellent condition of the course. He also thanked all the volunteers that do brilliant work in the bar, on the course and in the running of the club. Joe made special mention of his children and of course his wife Angela for her support throughout his year. The results were read out by Competition Secretary Ollie Walsh and at the time of going to press the writer has only the basic results so: 1st Shane McNaughton (9) 66 nett, 2nd Paul McKeown (13) also 66 nett, 3rd Noel Brady (17) 67 nett and the gross went to Patrick McCarville 76 c/b Well done to all winners. Captain Joe asked us to keep Derek McLaughlin in our prayers. The evening was concluded with music and dancing and it was noted that the gathering was particularly large for this Captain’s night.

Captains Day (Mr Joe Smith) Prize Saturday

Captains Day (Mr. Joe Smith) Prize to the Gentlemen takes place this Saturday, 2nd September. A draw for playing partners and times of play has taken place with the sheet posted in the locker room, on WhatsApp and Facebook. Participants are requested to please be on time in order to facilitate the smooth running of the Competition. Presentation of all Prizes will take place on the night and you are asked to please come out in support of our very popular Captain, Joe. We wish Joe the very best of luck on his day.

David Wins Captains (Mr. Paddy McKeown) Prize

The Captains (Mr. Paddy McKeown) Prize was won by David Goulding (8) with a great score of 65. Other Winners of the day were the following:

2nd     Joe Smith (Vice Captain) (68) net

3rd     Melvin Brogan           (69) net

Gross Patrick McCarville     (74)

Seniors                Noel Brady

Committee Prize Gerry Brady

Past Captains      John Copas

First Nine          Gaby Kerr        Back Nine. Dara Igoe

Juvenile/Student  Alex Hamilton

Nearest the Pin.   Benny Igoe     Longest Drive. Peter McNally

Visitors Prize.    1st. Colm McCormack.  2nd. Richard Parker

Ladies Prize Winners.

1st       Rosita McCabe

2nd      Mary Trant

Gross   Elaine Hamilton.   Congratulations to all the Winners

Captain’s Prize to the Ladies

Gerry Traynor Captain’s Prize to the Ladies was played last week and the winner claiming 10 of those valuable GOY points with a nett 73 was Veronica McGorman in 2nd place was Ann McCarthy with 74 nett and Roisin Kerr (there’s that lady again!) claimed the Gross with 86. Captain Gerry was in attendance on both Sunday and Thursday to welcome the ladies in off the course and was delighted that 28 took part for his coveted prizes which will be presented on captain’s night 5th of September.

Captain’s Prize to the Ladies

There was great turnout from the ladies club to honour Captain Sean Bonner and try and win his prize on Sunday 22nd July and Thursday 26th July. The Sunday ladies had the very worst of conditions with extremely high winds and mizzly rain whilst the Thursday ladies basked in sunshine and calm conditions. It was hardly surprising that the 1st and 2nd placed ladies came from Thursday both with nett 71. Congratulations to Lynn Whelan (17) just pipping Roisin Kerr (19) on the countback. Both these ladies lost a shot into the bargain! Celeste McKiernan also felt the cut of the handicap secretary’s shears! The gross came from Sunday well done Mary Trant(14) with 91. Teresa Fitzpatrick also deserves a mention for the best score on the Sunday in terrible conditions, no prizes but a 1 shot cut to her handicap! Ladies please make a note in your diaries to celebrate with Captain Sean on the 25th August( please note change of date).

Captain’s Prize

Captains prize takes pride of place on Saturday 27th August make sure that you have entered your name on the sheet as the draw will be made later on this week and note that the auction takes place on Monday 22nd Aug after the lotto your time slot cannot be altered afterwards as it would affect the auction.