Ladies Golfer of the Year 2018

The Golfer of the Year for 2018 result hung on the last competition with Mary Trant just one point ahead of Elaine Hamilton. Mary had a poor round on the Sunday and Elaine tried her hardest on Thursday to no avail having a score just one shot worse that Mary! In the end Mary Trant had 46 points having led from the start and who managed to score points every week. Elaine was second with 41 having missed out on scoring in two the weeks. So Congratulation to Mary Trant Golfer of the Year 2018.

Ladies Golf News and Results

Granard Cup & LGU Peugeot Foursomes

Ladies arrange a partner and opposites for the Granard Cup on Thursday 24th May.

Ladies Results

Time for a few results: The stableford on 21st and 26th April winner of Section A- Roisin Kerr 31 points and Section B Doli Maguire with 28 points The Charity stableford held on April 29th and May 3rd resulted in Lady Captain Brid Finlay claiming Section A with 29 points and Helen Connolly Section B with 30 points. The course was playing very long ! The May stableford held on 6th and 10th returned Roisin Kerr as winner of Section A with 32 points and Lady Vice Captain Collette McCahery Section B with 33 points.

Lady Vice Captain Claims First GOY Points

The prize winners of the first stroke Golfer of the Year were Section A 0-21 Mary Trant 76 nett, Section B 22-28 Roberta Hamilton nett 77 c/b and Section c 29-36 Lady Vice Captain Collette McCahery with a fabulous nett 69! Collette gets the first 10 points of the Golfer of the Year for 2018 and a hefty cut to her handicap now playing off 33! Congratulations ladies!

2nd GOY

The second ladies Golfer of the Year stroke medal DRAW is on Sunday 27th May and Thursday 31st May.

Ladies Cups and Medals

The ladies held their presentation of matchplay cups and Medals last Thursday evening along with the weekly prizes and once again we congratulate them on their prowess.

2016 Golfer of the Year-Rosita McCabe

Silver Medal- Rosita McCabe

Silver Spoon- Rosita McCabe

Bronze Medal- Roberta Hamilton

Rose Bowl-Final between Mary Trant and Lady Captain Geraldine Fitzpatrick yet to be played

Junior Cup-Helen Connolly runner up Doli Maguire

Barry McGuigan Cup-Catherine Farrell runner up Rosita McCabe

Par Pyramid-Roberta Hamilton

Birdie Tree-Roisin Kerr

Roisin -Ladies 2015 GOY

A huge congratulations to Roisin Kerr who, despite missing 3 weeks of the Golfer of the Year qualifiers not only played exceptional golf all year, managed to win the Lady Captain’s prize, reduce her handicap to 11 and claim the coveted Golfer of the Year for 2015 in the very last qualifying competition of the season! A very gifted golfer.

Presentation Supper

A lovely evening on Friday last when the Lady Captain hosted her final presentation evening before handing over to her successor Brid Finlay at the AGM on Sunday 24th of November. Roisin Kerr thanked her committee and the ladies club for making her year such an enjoyable
experience. The Centenary Golfer of the Year was Elaine Hamilton who has worked tirelessly on her golf in 2013 reducing her handicap on her journey to a credible 14. Well done Elaine! The winner of the Rose Bowl was Rosita McCabe. The Barry McGuigan Cup went to Anne McCarthy and the Junior Cup was won by Kathleen Leonard. The Birdie Tree and Silver Medal were won by Lady Captain Roisin Kerr and the Bronze Medal and Silver Spoon went to Eileen Kerr. Noeleen McCague claimed the par pyramid. Supper supplied by the ladies followed the presentation and a good night was had by all.